a time Masserano was the capital of the ancient principality that stretched up to the borders of the Valsesia. To the east is the high road which already in Roman times brought from Vercelli to Valsesia through Buronzo, Castelletto Cervo, Support, Crevacuore, Guardabosone and Postua and, crossing the ford in Castelletto, gave access to eastern Biellese. To the west the Lessonasca that from the plain, Mottalciata and Lessona, leading to the mountains of moved and Trivero.
Toward the year 1000 was built in Masserano a reel or castle, of which today we can still see some ruins behind current princely palace. It was built in a good location, not far from a first nucleus of houses that became the village, today the village below. The new castle had suffered much importance both for the construction itself, both for its strategic position. This attracted the attention of the bishops of Vercelli, who made it into one of the four hinges defensive of their now declining temporal domain. The reason for which the Fieschi became Lords of Masserano is attributable to the relationship with a bishop of Vercelli, John Fieschi. The Fieschi belonged to an ancient feudal family ligure, the accounts of the Whiteboard. In the maneuver of acquisition of new lands and alliances, could have the help of Bishop John Fieschi.
During the struggles against the Visconti, between 1372 and 1376, the castles of Masserano and Crevacuore always remained in the hands of the Bishop Giovanni, that provident to place them under the protection of the Holy See, while remaining him the legitimate owner to ensure neutrality to the lands Masseranesi. The passage to the Fieschi became definitive when the bishop, while was signed the peace in 1376 between the Visconti and the alloy, passed his every right on Masserano, Crevacuore and Moncrivello to another his brother, Nicolò. Masserano thus became a marquisate, with the marriage between Ferrero-Fieschi Filiberto and Camilla Sforza, nephew of Pope Paul III Farnese, celebrated in Rome on 18 April 1546. In 1598 became instead principality, with Francesco Filiberto first Prince of Masserano, and it remained until 1741, until it was sold by the Holy See to the House of Savoia, who incorporated the Antico Feudo Pontifical in Savoy State.
The rich heritage left by the principles of Masserano now is guarded in the Polo Museale Masseranese, which comprises: la Reggia of Ferrero-Fieschi Principles, the Collegiate Church, the Church of San Teonesto and the Church of the Holy Spirit. The museum is managed by the Associazione Culturale Don Vittorino Barale and organises events, guided tours and itineraries to discover the town and its monuments, as well as educational workshops for families and schools.