An old settlement is documented as Albereia since the 9th century in the flat area, but the first mention as Fulcardi Villar is of 1029 referring to a core located in a protected position from the waters of the Dora and Gravio which constituted the villa composed by a church and a stately palace, the Palais. Elicited in fief to the Visconti of Baratonia from Val Ceronda that for two centuries were officials in so far as the direct heirs of arduinico power. In 1653 come into possession of the feudal rights the Carroccio that will build a real residential house on the hill dominating the town, the Palace of the Counts of Carroccio (XV century). This is a massive building with a rectangular plan, that from the XVIII century was further refined with the realisation of a baroque facade and its function became exclusively that of temporary residence is tied to the presence of the family in the summer season.
The parish church, dedicated to Santa Maria Assunta, was built between 1717 and 1735 at the behest of the abbot Ignatius Carroccio, to replace the previous church more downstream damaged by repeated events alluvial plains. The generous patronage of the family also permitted a rich decorative apparatus inside and a refinement in the liturgical furnishings with the presence of the blades and the paintings of active workers for the court of Savoy. To few footsteps from the parochial church meets the Chapel of Loreto, private chapel of auditors Carroccio. The facade was originally decorated with frescoes, partly canceled in 1700, during the French occupation. It was used as a parish church during the years of the edification of the same, as well as the Sanctuary Madonna delle Grazie, known in the country as Cappella delle Vigne, since before the floods, stood on a slope cultivated with vineyards.
The presence of the ancient street of France on the valley saw the territory of Villar Focchiardo the presence of two farmsteads of fortified mail intended for reception: Cascina Roland (XV century) and the Giaconera. Cascina Roland is currently a multipurpose center and hosts the MuiMac Interactive Museum of brown and chocolate. The facades are characterized by ogival windows with brick cornices shaped and some traces of ancient frescoes. Above the entrance gate and on the eastern side of the fence will recognize the remains of the Cinta embattled, which testifies the defensive character of the Cascina. The whole complex, the parties conservatesi of ancient fortification are only those constituting the circle of outer walls. Outside the famous and legendary rock Roland.
Going up the mountain area on a hill at half coast the settlement of band gathers around the Certosa whose church preserves a lively decorative apparatus and a wooden choir of the gothic era. The band was the grangia of Certosa di Montebendetto in which the monks from Losa of Gravere settled starting of the thirteenth century. A disastrous flood forced abandonment in 1473 with the transfer of the Certosa of band. The presence of the Carthusian Community on the mountain of Villar Focchiardo however was punctuated by numerous quarrels even violent with the inhabitants, for the rights of pasture and water.
A large part of the territory at high altitude is included within the Parco Orsiera Rocciavrè to explore through the many paths escurisionistici which link refuges and stage posts, as the Trail of the Francs which, through Pian dell'Orso with the picturesque chapel of the Transfiguration, reaches the Sacra di San Michele.
Among the most important events in Valle di Susa for over fifty years, the Festival of Valsusino Brown with the exhibition market of the products of the territory is an event dedicated to the exploitation of the chestnut from fruit grown from ancient times on an area well specifies the Susa Valley between Meana, Mattie, San Giorio, Vaie and obviously Villar Focchiardo.