The events of Villa Monastero took place over a long period of time. What is now a late 18th century dwelling is actually the result of several interventions made in over nine centuries. The Villa was initially a Cistercian nunnery dedicated to the Holy Virgin, that had veen built at the end of the 12th century in connection with the nunnery in nearby Lenno. In the mid 16th century, the Mornico family bought the property that remained in thei ownership for over three centuries and was known as “Villa Leliana”. The Villa was then sold to other Italian and foreign purchasers until 1939, when it was donated and became a regional property and a museum. Today Villa Monastero is also a House Museum where a vast number of objects belonging to its several owners are displayed. Style and taste characterise this unique jewel that has been shining on the Lake Como for four centuries. In the 18th century, Italian and foreign prominent personalities of the cultural and artistic scene frequented the Villa, which was then inhabited. The 14 rooms of the house are completely furnished. All of them, from the Pool Hall to the Music Hall, from Mornico Parlour to the Main Room, offer visitors the opportunity to go back to the past through the various styles, the precious materials and the luxurious decorations. Villa Monastero is surrounded by a botanical Garden with several rare species. The Garden, being set up in terraces, has been structured in different patterns over the years yet maintaining a main recurring theme. The mid climate, peculiar to the lake, allows numerous botanic species from all over the world to grow. More species are added every year.
Contact Villa Monastero
Fill out this form to contact this structure directly